College Finance help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

College Finance help

Postby KyleA » Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:04 pm

Hello, my name is Kyle and I recently came to college to pursue a finance major. One day I would like to be a financial planner/analyst, and while I'm still going through my first semester, I am thinking of doing some personal investing to give myself experience and to put a dent out of those loans before the interest kicks in :)

I have been saving my money since I was 5 years old and opened my first savings account with $90 in 2001. Since then I rarely spend much and I got an allowance from my parents every month for doing chores. Since this money is now sitting in the bank, and I paid for all my textbooks and necessities, I was wondering If any investments are smart to do at this moment. I do not want to give out my actual dollar amount, but i will give u a hint by saying it is multiple thousands :)

I do not want any risky/longterm investment plans, since I will be needing the money in 4 years, just looking to accrue some interest while it is sitting there. I have done CDs before, and It was great, but the interest rates are way too low right now. I was wondering If I could do, like a money my market account safely, or something of that nature

Thank you guys in advance!
Kyle
KyleA

Re: College Finance help

Postby LadyGeek » Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:26 pm

Welcome! Investing is part of a bigger financial planning picture. You need to do this in order, take a look in the wiki: Financial planning

Since you want to go into financial planning, think about each step along the way. What are your goals in the next few years (graduate)? How do you plan to fund this? You'll need a budget.

Once that is done, be sure you have a sufficient emergency fund. Then, you can start investing ("Implement the plan").

Put everything together, then see if you have enough room for investing.