Newbie Poster looking for feedback

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Newbie Poster looking for feedback

Postby cmvb08 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:48 pm

Double Post
Last edited by cmvb08 on Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
cmvb08

Am I on Track? (Newbie 26 Yr-Old Investor)

Postby cmvb08 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:44 pm

Hello All,

I am a recent graduate working on getting on track to retire. I'd appreciate any/all input and advice this forum can give! I have really enjoyed researching and learning from those of you that respond to posts on this forum and that has dragged me out of just lurking on the boards!

My info
Emergency funds: Three months currently, slowly adding till I get to six
Debt: Student Loan - $6,600 (6.55% interest rate)
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate in 2013: Effective Fed: 11.2% Marginal Fed: 25% Marginal Iowa: 7.92%
State of Residence: Iowa
Desired Asset allocation: 90% stocks / 10% bonds (Currently at 87.7/12.3 across my entire portfolio)
Desired International allocation: 25% of stocks

Total portfolio Value: Approx. $15,000

My Roth IRA
V'gard Div. Growth (VDIGX) (.29) - 59.5%
STAR Fund (VGSTX) (.34) - 22%

My 401(K)
Oakmark Int'l (OAKIX) (1.06) - 9.3%
Vanguard Wellington (VWENIX) (.17) - 9.2%

Available Options in my 401(K)

Pimco Total Return (PTTRX) (.46)
Vanguard Total Bond (VBTIC) (.07)
DFA Global Allocation 25/75 (DGTSX) (.28)
DFA Global Allocation 60/40 (DGSIX) (.30)
Dodge & Cox (DODGX) (.52)
Munder-Veracity Small Cap (VSVIX) (1.25)
Vanguard S&P 500 (VINIX) (.04)
Vanguard Small Cap Growth (VSGIX) (.08)
Artisan Int'l (ARTIX) (1.19)
DFA Global Equity (DGEIX) (.33)

Also the other two that I am currently investing in and a MM.

Contributions

New Annual Contributions
$3,500 to 401(K) (This will get me the largest possible match from my employer, 3% on the first 6% contributed and i would contribute a little more)
$5,500 to Roth IRA

Questions: