Strategy and tactics for auto-pilot investing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
frylock

Strategy and tactics for auto-pilot investing

Post by frylock »

Hi everyone,

First of all, thank you for all the great information in this forum. I'm a novice investor and this forum usually answers all my questions :)

I'm looking to do independent (taxed) investments. I can generally put ~$2K aside every month, and also I have more lumpy sums coming in couple of times a year (employee stock options vesting, bonuses) -- considerably more than what I put aside totally throughout the year. I have questions both on strategy and tactics and I would love to get a sanity check here as well.

Strategy
In my ideal world I would get all my compensation spread out equally throughout all my paychecks, and would invest in one "balanced every security ever" index for every paycheck. But, my paydays are lumpy and there is no one perfect index. The latter is relatively easily solved -- invest in a mix of US stock (VTSAX or similar), Int'l stock (VTIAX or similar), and US bonds (VBTLX or similar), so I would like to ultimately hold only three securities.

The first is a bit harder. For the sake of the example, let's say I get $48K once a year as a lump sum, on top of the $2K I save every month. I'm a big fan of dollar-cost-averaging, so I plan to just let the $48K go to my bank, and invest $48K/12 + $2K = $6K every month (or $3K twice a month). The upside is that I have my peace of mind, the downside is that I'm losing $48K * six months of interest, which should be $1K-$2K with historical averages.

Last, I've been burned in the past with timing-the-market psychology so I really really want to make sure that investments are automated.

Tactics
I have two main questions here: brokerage firm and the kind of funds I use to track the index (ETF vs MF).