First Timer - Help with retirement and basic investing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

First Timer - Help with retirement and basic investing

Postby investme » Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:01 am

Hi Everyone, I am new to this site and investing, but have been thinking about it for a while and done lots of research lately with more everyday, but for the most part a complete newbie. I do have both Schwab and Vanguard brokerage accounts.

Emergency funds: Yes
Debt: Mortgage $139,248.07 3.125% 15 year, refinanced 9 months ago
Car: 11,736.59 @ 1.75% 3 year (Just paid down balance and refinanced)
Tax Filing Status:Single
Tax Rate: 28% marginal Federal, 4.63% State
State of Residence: CO
Desired Asset allocation: 80% stocks / 20% bonds
Desired International allocation: 20% of stocks

Above was only a recommendation from Schwab/Vanguard and this site for my age

Current Retirement Assets:
23,727.42 total in FID Freedom K 2050 FFKHX expense ratio .68% via company 403b, managed by Fidelity

Contributions: $13,000 /year (recently adjusted), was about $8,500 before

Company does have a match which is about 6% - only kicks in after 5 years of employment.

I have a 401k with an old employer with 58,065.17

Most of this is the company stock - 63.23%
Rest is as follows:
17.48 % Large Cap
5.45% Mid-cap
5.11% Small Cap
6.39% International
2.26% Bonds

Since the company stock is doing very well I have chosen to leave this account alone, unfortunately I cannot do a "partial" move. Eventually the plan would be to move this to a traditional IRA.

I have another very old account I've let sit in TIAA-CREF stock and equity index with about 3k in it I was thinking of moving over to an IRA - not sure or Roth or Traditional yet.

I also have about 500 shares of the old company stock worth about 26k not in retirement.