Brand new to investing! Would like guidance...

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Brand new to investing! Would like guidance...

Postby bearpaws » Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:36 am

Hi everyone! I'm glad to have found this website with so many people willing to help! I'm completely new to investing and have been trying to learn the Boglehead way of investing, which I would love to follow. Needed a little guidance from here...

Emergency fund: 6 months

Debt:
Credit card - none
Student loans - $76,000 (10k @ 6.8%, 61k @ 2.5%, 5k @ 5%)
Car loans - $8,000 @ 0%
Mortgage - none (renting)

Tax Filing Status: Married filing jointly

Tax Rate: 33% Federal, 9% State

State of Residence: California

Desired Asset allocation: 65-70% stocks / 30-35% bonds

Desired International allocation: 20-25% of stocks - not sure??

Current retirement assets
His 401k at Fidelity
Target Date 2040 (name of the fund is just my employer's name) (0.02%) -- 87.5%

Asset allocation of my 401K plan.
Preferred stock 0.12%
Others 1.15%
Foreign stock 29.34%
Cash 6.07%
Domestic stock 51.21%
Domestic bond 10.57%
Foreign bond 1.54%

Available 401k funds
FID CUSTOM CONTRAFUND Portfolio Expense ratio 0.43%
Vanguard PRIMECAP Fund Admiral Shares (VPMAX) Expense ratio 0.36%
BlackRock US Market Equity Fund Expense ratio 0.01%
Fidelity® Custom Low-Priced Stock Portfolio Expense ratio 0.56%
RUSSELL SMALL CAP Expense ratio 0%
Capital Guardian International Equity Fund Unit Class S Expense ratio 0%
Templeton International Foreign Fund Expense ratio 0%
Russell Global Real Estate Securities Fund Expense ratio 0%
F.R. FIXED INCOME Expense ratio 0%
PIMCO High Yield Fund Institutional Class (PHIYX) Expense ratio 0.55%
Managed Income Portfolio II Class 3 Expense ratio 0.28%

His Roth IRA at Fidelity
Fidelity FUSEX (Fidelity Spartan 500 Index Fund Investor Class) (.1%) -- 12.5%

Her 401k
None offered through work

Her IRA
None

Contributions