24 year old new to investing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

24 year old new to investing

Postby Kevin1989 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:07 pm

Hello! I have little experience actually investing, but now that I have some funds available, I have been doing a lot of reading on the subject lately. So after recently getting started I’d like to see if I find myself on a good initial path.

Annual Salary: $73,000
Debt: Fortunately none!
Non-cash/investment assets: Very little. I do not own a car and do not anticipate buying one for at least 2 years (live in a big city). I also do not have a mortgage and don’t anticipate getting one for at least 2 years (single, reasonable rent with roommates, eventually want to settle down in a different state)
Health: Above Average, I tend to view this as a type of investment account too!
Current Emergency Savings (savings account): $25,000
Current Investment Savings: $12,000

Index Allocation Strategy for next few years is…
Small Cap Value 25% (Expense Ratio: 0.24) – Roth IRA
Total International 25% (Expense Ratio: 0.10) – Company Roth 401k
Large Cap Value 15% (Expense Ratio: 0.08) – Company Roth 401k
Small Cap Index 20% (Expense Ratio: 0.06) – Company Roth 401k
Large Growth 5% (Expense Ratio: 0.08) – Company Roth 401k
REIT 10% (Expense Ratio: 0.08) – Company Roth 401k