Investing Newbie seeking Initial Asset Allocation advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Investing Newbie seeking Initial Asset Allocation advice

Postby benjam.brooks » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:19 pm

Hey Bogleheads!

I came across the forum after recently finishing William Bernsteins book 'The Four Pillars of Investing'. I'm writing this post because 1) I'm starting a new job that is matching my 401(k) contributions up to 6% of gross income 2) I'd like to open a Roth IRA to invest additional funds outside of my 401k contributions 3) I have no current investments/retirement assets and 4) I'm trying to come up with an initial optimal asset allocation. I thought this would be a great venue to look for some suggestions/ideas/critiques/food for thought! Here is my requisite info (keep in mind I'm a post-masters student reentering the work force):

Emergency Funds: None (Estimated $3,700 monthly expenses)
Debt: Credit Card $2,250 (17% APR), Student Loan $100,000 (5% interest)
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: Federal ~25%, State 5%, City 3%
State: NY
Desired Asset Allocation: 75% equity / 25% fixed-income
Desired International Allocation: 22% of equity, 16.5% of total portfolio

Initial Asset Allocation idea (based off of Bernstein's tax-sheltered 75% equity / 25% bond recommended allocation):
Equity
Large Cap Blend: 15% (401k)
Large Cap Value: 18.75% (Roth)
Small Cap Blend: 3.75% (401k)
Small Cap Value: 11.25% (Roth)
EAFE Blend: 5.63% (Roth)
Emerging Markets Blend: 5.63% (Roth)
International Value: 5.25% (Roth)
REIT: 7.5% (Roth)
Satellite: 2.25% (Roth)

Fixed-Income:
Short-term Corporate Debt: 15% (401k)
Short-term Treasuries/ TIPS: 10% (401k)

Current retirement assets:
None.

Annual Contributions:
401k: $4,200 (pre-tax)
Roth: $5,400 (post-tax)

Questions: