Figuring It All Out (Convert 401k to TIRA??)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
SD2001

Figuring It All Out (Convert 401k to TIRA??)

Post by SD2001 »

Hi,

This is my first time posting. So here it goes...I am trying to figure out what to do with my old 401k plan at Schwab. Any advice is much appreciated!

A little about myself: 30 year old, single tax filing status; base salary 90 K (but total income fluctuates, i.e. 2012 income was around 120K). Target asset allocation: 60% Stocks, 15% Bonds, 25% International Stocks

I have two 401k accounts - one at my current employer and the other is an old 401k plan at Schwab. I do not have any IRA accounts opened yet. Currently, I'm working on maximizing my contributions in the current employer 401k account, which happens to also offer a Roth 401k (that I recently discovered and have not contributed anything to). I'm also working on saving for a mortgage down payment with the hopes of purchasing my first home in 5-6 years from now.

I'm not sure I like the investment choices I have at Schwab 401k plan and the fact that I no longer can contribute money into it. So, I am thinking of a rollover TIRA or a Roth IRA. Should I do a rollover? If so, stay at Schwab or go to Vanguard for the rollover where I am keen on purchasing Vanguard index funds?

I currently do not have any IRA accounts, does it makes sense to try a backdoor Roth coversion? Given my 2012 income level, I don't know if I'm eligible for Roth IRA (but my income this year could be less). Here is the info about my Schwab 401k plan and investments:

Percentages within 401k Schwab portfolio (5 figures)
33% - Invesco Growth and Income Fund R5 Class ACGQX
20% - JPMorgan Large Cap Growth Fund Class R6 JLGMX
23% - Prudential Jennison Small Company Fund Class Q PJSQX
24% - Vanguard FTSE All-World ex-US Index Fund Institutional Shares VFWSX

All funds available at Schwab plan: