portfolio review for tax efficiency

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

portfolio review for tax efficiency

Postby feh » Fri May 17, 2013 1:17 pm

Hi folks.

Please provide feedback on this portfolio from a tax efficiency point of view; I'm still learning about this topic and I'm not sure I have the optimal setup.

Please use "conventional" wisdom here; in other words, ignore the fact that we may be in a small window where it may actually make sense to have bonds in taxable accounts.

First column is percentage of portfolio:

50% | taxable | TM, ITM, SV, ISV (funds: FSTVX, FSGDX, VBR, VSS)
30% | traditional IRA | TBM, REIT (funds: FSITX, PTTRX, FSRVX)
10% | Roth IRA | SV, ISV (funds: VBR, VSS)
10% | 401k | S&P 500 index

Thank you.
feh

Re: portfolio review for tax efficiency

Postby letsgobobby » Fri May 17, 2013 2:46 pm

seems ok to me; it's about what I do.
letsgobobby

Postby ziszew » Fri May 17, 2013 5:18 pm

You're pretty much there.

In an ideal world you could swap SV with the 500 in your 401k (it's QDI runs in the 50-75% range each year whereas 500 tends to be 100%), although most likely not possible given most 401k plan offerings. That would be good for about 25-50 basis points depending on your tax bracket. If you have a Fidelity managed 401k plan, consider using IJS through brokeragelink as it's commission free and a good substitute for VBR (what we do).

If the switch isn't simple or cost effective, consider yourself as tax-efficient as you're likely to get (IJS is more tax-efficient than VBR in taxable, but now we're really splitting hairs).
ziszew

Postby SpringMan » Fri May 17, 2013 5:38 pm

Looks okay but not sure I would classifyl VSS as international small value (ISV).
VSS Morningstar xray shows:
00 00 01
21 20 22
15 10 10
Predominately mid-cap growth
Best Wishes, SpringMan
SpringMan

Postby feh » Fri May 17, 2013 8:10 pm

ziszew wrote:You're pretty much there.