Help a new investor with his finances/portfolio...

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Wesley

Help a new investor with his finances/portfolio...

Post by Wesley »

Emergency funds: $38,000 (about 5 months)
Debt:
-Medical School Loan #1 (Sallie Mae) – $62,000 (2.75% variable)
-Medical School Loan #2 (ACS) - $79,000 (2.625% fixed)
-Car Loan - $22,000 (3.25%)
-Mortgage - $580,000 (5.625% APR) – Doctor’s loan with 0% down and no mortgage insurance

Tax Filing Status: Married
Tax Rate: 33% Federal, 4.63% State
State of Residence: Colorado
Desired Asset allocation: 75% stocks / 25% bonds
Desired International allocation: 25% of stocks

A bit about myself – I am a 36-year-old physician (completed fellowship 1 ½ years ago), married to a nurse practitioner (currently stay-at-home mother) with a 1½ year old boy and 2nd child on the way. I invested in 403b/457 accounts when I was working for 1 ½ years during my training. My wife invested in her retirement accounts while working as a nurse. Both are a mess, as we had no idea what we were doing. I am now in private practice and just became eligible for our 401k plan, but have yet to start investing in it – I am actually working on opening a non-prototypical retirement plan with Fidelity to have access to their low cost Spartan index funds. As you will see below, we have made poor choices in our investment choices in the past (and lack of investments), but I have been doing my homework and reading and am ready to get my financial plan in order (with your help hopefully). Additionally, in two years from now I will likely be offered partnership in our practice and will need to take out a hefty loan (~$1.2M); however, if our reimbursement doesn’t change (I know it likely will), my salary should triple. Recent partners have been able to pay off the buy-in loan in 3 years.

Current Portfolio size - ~$136,000

Current retirement assets

Taxable