Recommendations ~ Newbie Young Investor ~ High Income

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Recommendations ~ Newbie Young Investor ~ High Income

Postby xGLORYx » Wed May 08, 2013 11:54 am

Hey Guys ....

I'm 27 and looking for some recommendations below. I'm a small business owner whose done quite well over the last few years, and I've finally realized I should probably start preparing for the future. I took advantage of the backdoor Roth IRA for 2012 along with having my wife do the same. I'm currently about 3/4 the way through "The Bogleheads' Guide to Investing" and I'm now just starting to fully grasp things. My old CPA didn't help much as far as tax understandings went. I certainly paid "My Fair Share" over the past several yeas, and wish I could have taken advantage of some tax sheltering, but I won't complain. I've fired him and moved on to someone that seems to know quite a bit more :)

I'm looking for recommendations :)

My info is below:

Balance Sheet:
Assets:
Checking Account: $64,000+
Savings Account: $750,000+
15+ Acre's Ready To Build: $160,000
Current Home: $90,000 in equity
2 Vehicles Paid For: $50,000
His Roth IRA: $5,133.xx
Her Roth IRA: $5,202.xx
Scottrade Account: $29,200.xx
Vanguard Money Market: $50,000 {Fresh and Ready to start}
Sons 529 Sav Acct: $6,355.xx

Liabilities:
Home Loan: $210,000 balance [3.5% @ 15 years with 13 years remaining]
Credit Card Debt: $0 ~ None
Car Loans: $0 ~ None
Student Loans: $0 ~ None

Income Statement:
Salaried Income (After Taxes) [Not including Bonuses]: $9500/month
Yearly Distributions (Before Tax): $200,000 - $300,000/yearly

Expenses:
Mortgage [3.5% ~ 15 year note]: $1,650/month
Insurance: $250/month to cover everything including Umbrella Policy
Property Tax: $134/month
Misc (Including Utilities/Kids/Groceries/Pets/etc...: $2,000.00

Money left over: Approx: $5,000/month not including distributions/bonuses.