Please critique this Singaporean portfolio

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
eugeneyan

Please critique this Singaporean portfolio

Post by eugeneyan »

I graduated two years ago, paid off my education loans, and am currently in my late twenties. Seeing my savings eroded by inflation (3.5 - 4.5% annually; the 0.1% bank interest rate here doesn't help!) I stumbled upon this forum and the Boglehead Investment Philosophy. My aim is to invest over the long term (30-40 years) until I retire. As I'm still young and yet to settle down, I'm willing to take a substantial amount of risk and stay the course. My tentative portfolio is:

i. Domestic Equity: 40% ES3 (This is an ETF of the Straits Times Index, a benchmark index for the Singapore Stock Market)
ii. International Equity: 40% VT and 10% VWO
iii. Bonds: 5% TIP and 5% ISHG / AGG

I foresee that I'll be spending most of my life in Singapore and have a substantial allocation to ES3--should I increase the allocation to domestic equity (ES3) to reduce currency risk? On the other hand, I'm concerned about having too much of my allocation in Singapore's tiny stock market and feel a need to diversify further.

You may be surprised at the low bond allocation. In Singapore, everyone has a scheme called the Central Provident Fund (CPF) Scheme. Under this scheme, 20% of your monthly income automatically goes into your CPF account which you can draw upon hitting the age of 65. CPF savings earn a minimum of 2.5% guaranteed by the government. I'm factoring my CPF savings into my bond allocation, thus the low bond allocation. However, I won't be able to use my CPF savings for rebalancing.