I bonds for vacation and emergency fund

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
rossgarin

I bonds for vacation and emergency fund

Post by rossgarin »

I've decided to invest in I Bonds for about half of our emergency fund and for our every-five-year big vacation (for which I stash away some money every month). This is my first time dealing with bonds, so I'm a little unsure of how it *works*. If I systematically invest $100 every month in I Bonds, does that mean that I'll basically have a new bond each month, with a new maturity date, and each subject to the 12-month freeze and penalty for early withdrawal (before 5 years) based on the month it was purchased?
floydtime

Re: I bonds for vacation and emergency fund

Post by floydtime »

You could do that, but it would get messy. I'd instead get one (or several, depending on denominations you need) every 6 or 12 months. We buy a bunch annually, and that is the majority of our "vacation and/or unexpecteds" fund - the rest being in cash for flexibility.

Yes, after 5 years, you get it all (but even after just 1 year, you get all but the last 3 months of interest).
"Do not value money for any more nor any less than its worth; it is a good servant but a bad master" - Alexandre Dumas
Topic Author
rossgarin

Post by rossgarin »

You mean it would get messy because I'll so many different maturity dates if I invest monthly? Also, please explain about different denominations...why would I want this, as opposed to just buying one bond for the entire amount I want to invest every 6 or 12 months? sorry, and thanks for the advice!
suming

Post by suming »

Where and how to buy I bonds? The interest is the same everywhere?
Topic Author
rossgarin

Post by rossgarin »

suming wrote:Where and how to buy I bonds? The interest is the same everywhere?
I'm buying directly from the Treasury Department through the Treasury Direct website
Topic Author
rossgarin