1.5% Financial Advisor... or index fund?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
vpotus

1.5% Financial Advisor... or index fund?

Post by vpotus »

Hi all,

This is my first time here. I'm aware that there are many resources here that I plan to read... But I'm dying to have some feedback.

I recently inherited about $350,000 and have not done much with it as I have been settling my late mother's affairs. I'm now at the point of making some financial decisions. My wife and I interviewed a fee-only financial advisor as well as a financial management company. My wife prefers the financial management company because she thinks that they can get better returns than a Vanguard index fund; I'm not so sure that that is possible and I don't know how they can prove their track record.

The Financial advisors need to beat 1.5% by a lot to make it worth my while. If the FA company can beat and index fund by 2% it may be worthwhile... but... I know the company will eat a lot of the money over time.The FA company also mentioned that they want to have access to accounts to change allocations; that makes me a little uneasy.

I'm leaning more toward a one-time fee only advisor and then some vanguard funds.

Please share your thoughts. Thank you.

VP
livesoft

Re: 1.5% Financial Advisor... or index fund?

Post by livesoft »

My thought: A 1.5% annual fee is a rip-off.

Your spouse may be thinking that "an index fund" is simply a fund that tracks the S&P500 index. That is just one index fund. There are many index funds: bond index, small-cap index, REIT index, total market index, int'l index, etc. Some combination of index funds will do better than the S&P500 index fund or will have more or less risk than the S&P500 index fund. The corollary to this is that advisors who do better than the S&P500 index fund are nothing special.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
CABob