Reported Returns... Do they include expense ratio

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Reported Returns... Do they include expense ratio

Postby caliskier » Thu May 02, 2013 12:28 am

I am trying to screen some bond funds but I assume this question applies to mutual funds as well. I am just starting to learn and I am working through Charles Schaub on my own. So here is my question. When I pull down funds to compare, I see average reported returns for 1,3,5 years and since inception. Then I see the Gross and Net expense ratio. Do those returns include the expenses? So in other words, if the net expense ratio is 1% and the reported average return is 10%, if I would have invested in this fund, is my return 9% or 10%?

I have surfed the web and the research I found seams to suggest my return would be 9%, but I called Schaub and got a very smart guy that explained it in detail to me that the returns they show are after all expenses are taken out so my return would be 10%.

But with all the heavy emphasis on having low fee funds I just am not sure what he is telling me is right. How does this work exactly.
caliskier

Re: Reported Returns... Do they include expense ratio

Postby nisiprius » Thu May 02, 2013 7:00 am

Yes, all reported returns are net of expenses. (One of the few things in the investment business that seems honest). The Schwab representative is correct. What you see is what you get--or, rather, what you see is what investors got. IF they stayed invested over the reported time period, of course.