Boglehead advice on portfolio - retiring Soldier

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Boglehead advice on portfolio - retiring Soldier

Postby Van-Guard23 » Wed May 01, 2013 10:10 pm

Asking for some guidance and advice from fellow Bogleheads…have been a longtime lurker and have asked for a financial health azimuth check about 4 or 5 years ago. I am an Army officer retiring from Active Duty later this summer after over 20 years of service to our nation and intend to retire here in Hawaii. My wife, who is also an Army officer, intends to continue serving for another 2 years and retire in HI as well. I started investing while still a Second Lieutenant many, many years ago…but that was before I’ve come to appreciate “Bogle wisdom” in investing. As such, I started with actively managed funds (front loaded at that) and added positions based on articles from such “respected” publications and websites as Money, Fortune, Kiplinger, Morningstar, etc. Before I knew it, it was getting more difficult to sell those shares due to having to pay associated taxes on capital gains. Well now that I am about to retire from the Army and start another phase of my life (My passion has been to volunteer and assist veterans and elderly in whatever capacity I can), I figure it is time to clean house and relook our portfolio.
After retirement, I would not be able to contribute to my TSP but would still be able to contribute to Roth IRA thru my wife. At retirement, I will begin collecting a monthly pension of over $4,100 a month. In another 2 years, with my wife’s planned retirement from the Army, she will collect a similar monthly pension.

Emergency funds: YES
Debt: Mortgage: 20-year fixed at 3.5% (still have over $460K balance but refinancing to 15-year at 2.5%)
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly