Problem with Vanguard website

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Problem with Vanguard website

Postby fredd » Wed May 01, 2013 7:34 pm

I can move around the Internet freely, but can't access my Vanguard account on line. This has occurred over the last two days. I get a "can't access server" message. I have used both Firefox and IE. Anyone else experiencing this?

fredd
fredd
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby tylerdurden » Wed May 01, 2013 7:38 pm

I haven't had any issues accessing Vanguard's site recently. Actually, I don't think I have ever had issues with Vanguard.
"The things you own end up owning you." -TD
User avatar
tylerdurden
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby frugaltype » Wed May 01, 2013 7:38 pm

No. I've been there twice, with Firefox.
User avatar
frugaltype
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:07 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby Blues » Wed May 01, 2013 7:44 pm

No issues here with FF.
“Tactics without strategy is the noise before defeat.” - Sun Tzu | "Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson
User avatar
Blues
 
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:58 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby peppers » Wed May 01, 2013 7:54 pm

No problems...clean and green.
"..the cavalry ain't comin' kid, you're on your own..."
peppers
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:05 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby FrugalInvestor » Wed May 01, 2013 7:57 pm

No problem using Chrome. I've been on Vanguard's site 2 or 3 times today.
"Some men worship rank, some worship heroes, some worship power, some worship God, and over these ideals they dispute and cannot unite, but they all worship money. - Mark Twain
User avatar
FrugalInvestor
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:20 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby runner9 » Wed May 01, 2013 8:02 pm

No problem with IE8, though it did ask a security question which I was surprised at, as I log in from that computer regularly and didn't clear the history or cookies.
User avatar
runner9
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby mhc » Wed May 01, 2013 8:34 pm

No problems here. Try clearing out your cookies and restarting everything.
User avatar
mhc
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:18 pm
Location: NoCo

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby Steelersfan » Wed May 01, 2013 9:50 pm

No issues using either a Chrome browser on my PC or whatever browser comes standard with my Android smart phone, which I presume in Chrome based.
User avatar
Steelersfan
 
Posts: 2537
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby longview » Thu May 02, 2013 2:22 am

fredd wrote:I can move around the Internet freely, but can't access my Vanguard account on line. This has occurred over the last two days. I get a "can't access server" message. I have used both Firefox and IE. Anyone else experiencing this?

fredd


In case you don't know about it, http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ is a great site. You can see if you have a personal issue or DNS problem.
(To color my comments: my situation is ER trying to make a large portfolio that is 99% taxable last 45 years)
longview
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:26 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby EternalOptimist » Thu May 02, 2013 2:28 pm

No problems here, try deleting your cache and then try again. Had a similar problem with Fidelity and this cured it
"When nothing goes right....go left"
User avatar
EternalOptimist
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: New York

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby C8H18Engineer » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:00 pm

Seems messed up right now... I tried accessing it from two parts of the country. Images are broken and web pages malformed.

I checked the static image host and it shows down:
https://static.vgcontent.info/ret/hnw/w ... g_logo.gif

Website Name:
static.vgcontent.info
URL Checked:no response
Response Time:unknown
Last Down:DOWN
Static.vgcontent.info is DOWN
It is not just you. The server is not responding...
User avatar
C8H18Engineer
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:30 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby runner9 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:29 pm

I just logged in with no problems.
User avatar
runner9
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby osho » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:32 pm

C8H18Engineer wrote:Seems messed up right now... I tried accessing it from two parts of the country. Images are broken and web pages malformed.

I checked the static image host and it shows down:
https://static.vgcontent.info/ret/hnw/w ... g_logo.gif

Website Name:
static.vgcontent.info
URL Checked:no response
Response Time:unknown
Last Down:DOWN
Static.vgcontent.info is DOWN
It is not just you. The server is not responding...


Ran into the same problem....tried calling, was put on hold. Gave up and tried mobile app which was fortunately working.
osho
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:27 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby imgritz » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:38 pm

I am having issues with the website too.
imgritz
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:39 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby C8H18Engineer » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:40 pm

I called Vanguard, but of course they were too busy. Something is up.

I am able to login from my mobile device just fine, but IE and Chrome are a no-go.
User avatar
C8H18Engineer
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:30 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby imgritz » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:54 pm

I called Vanguard. They are aware of the problem and they are trying to fix it.
imgritz
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:39 am

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby Wildebeest » Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:05 pm

I have no difficulties accessing. Everything works fast and normally.
The Golden Rule: One should treat others as one would like others to treat oneself.
User avatar
Wildebeest
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 2:36 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby tibbitts » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:07 pm

It seems like a little downtime once in a while shouldn't be unexpected, or any cause for concern.
tibbitts
 
Posts: 5122
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:50 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby runner9 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:31 pm

I'm just curious on the rush to get on vanguard.com after 4pm Eastern on a Friday. Mutual fund prices aren't updated, orders placed won't fill till Monday.
User avatar
runner9
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby BrandonBogle » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:35 pm

Well, I was just checking out my account today and saw the same symptoms of the missing images and malformed pages. I decided I'll just try again next week. Was just updating my spreadsheet to see if I need to rebalance.
User avatar
BrandonBogle
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby FinancialSnowboarder » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:25 pm

I'm having problems as well. The page is very slow and I could not even log in. Perhaps they're dealing with openSSL problems?

http://blogs.barrons.com/focusonfunds/2 ... ents-take/
FinancialSnowboarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:56 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby peppers » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:33 pm

No problem getting in.
"..the cavalry ain't comin' kid, you're on your own..."
peppers
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:05 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby FinancialSnowboarder » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:35 pm

How weird. I tried getting in about 2 hours ago and it was giving me problems. Now I can log-in again without any problems.

I didn't clear my cache or anything.
FinancialSnowboarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:56 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby larmewar » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:15 pm

I was seeing malformed pages and command lines at the bottom of pages using IE from work and couldn't log in. Chrome from home was fine.

Lar
larmewar
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:45 pm

Re: Problem with Vanguard website

Postby trailmk » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:05 am

I'm using FIrefox on a Mac and I am also seeing mis-aligned pages with links that don't work.
trailmk
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:16 pm


Return to Investing - Help with Personal Investments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Electron, Google [Bot], jchiu003, Lafder, rob, vas and 55 guests