Beginner Asset Allocation Questions

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Beginner Asset Allocation Questions

Postby rdlaner » Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:37 am

I'm new to the Boglehead forum, but have been reading many posts for the past few weeks after finishing the "Boglehead's Guide to Investing." It has been very enlightening and as a result, I have a few beginner questions I was hoping to get help with.
First off, I just started taking advantage of the 401(k) matching plan that is provided by my work. Currently, I have 6% of each paycheck deducted towards the 401(k) as that is the max that my company will match.
Also, I have just recently gotten married and as a result my expenses have gone up since my wife is not yet working. As such, I have quite a bit less left over for savings. However, my wife did bring with her a chunk of money that she had saved somewhere near $15k.
I currently have the beginnings of an emergency fund set aside in a MMA of about $8k.

From what I have learned about asset allocation and placing the correct funds in their respective taxable or tax-advantaged accounts, I'm inclined to have my work 401(k) comprised mostly of bonds and in a addition, open a taxable account for stocks. However, since nearly all of my retirement investing for the time being will be through my work's 401(k) account, I don't think that I will have the additional funds (besides the $15k previously mentioned) to open a taxable account to invest in stocks.
Ideally, I would like to conservatively invest the $15k towards a down payment on a house in the intermediate future, likely 4-6 years.

First question: given this scenario, is still to wise to invest in stocks within a 401(k)?
Given that I am 28 years old, I would like to have stocks make up a larger portion of my early portfolio. Given the limited selection of funds in my employers 401(k), this is the allocation I am considering: