Portfolio critique

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Portfolio critique

Postby Streptococcus » Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:52 pm

Hello!
I am new to investing. After a 1 year learning process during which I read about 25 books, I became a disciple of the FF 3 factor model; I would really appreciate to have the seasoned investors in this forum critique my portfolio.
Here it is:
Age 39;
Stocks/Bonds: 70/30 with 40% international allocation

1. 403b account: There is an awful choice of funds. How can I max out my 403b to 22,500 a year, including my employers match, with the following limited choice of funds?
15% spartan US bonds index - exp ratio 0.17
15% Blackrock inflation protection bond - ER 0.48
4% Fidelity real estate inv - ER 0.84

2. Roth 403b: I do not qualify for roth IRA and my employers Roth 403b has a limited choice of funds. But I want to take advantage of tax free growth
15% Spartan extended market index - ER 0.07

3. Taxable accounts
15% vanguard 500 index fund - ER 0.17
4% vanguard small cap value - ER 0.35
4% ishare microcap ETF - ER 0.69
10% vanguard pacific stock index - ER 0.26
10% vanguard europe stock index - ER 0.26
8% vanguard emerging market index - ER 0.33

I know, these are many accounts; I would have preferred to adopt the lazy portfolio philosophy but I have to take advantage of my 403b employer's match and I want tax free growth through my roth 403b. How do I combine these needs with simplicity? Please be brutally honest.
many thanks in advance
Strep
Streptococcus

Re: Portfolio critique

Postby livesoft » Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:32 pm

Are these things you have invested in at the moment? Or are they things that you have just decided on and need to implement?

A typical FF 3-factor portfolio around here is quite simplified:
a. Pick equities/bonds split