Payoff 2nd mortgage or invest in taxable account?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Payoff 2nd mortgage or invest in taxable account?

Postby SlightOfHand » Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:57 pm

I've seen many of these posts, but I think my situation is different enough to warrant a new post.

me 43, spouse 41, children 10,8

tax-deferred retirement accts: $430,000
taxable retirement savings: $190,000

emergency fund: $350,000
529 plans: $65,000

mortgage #1: $110,000 3.99% 7 years remaining (originally 10yr HEL)
mortgage #2: $384,000 3.375% 14 years remaining (originally 15yr mortgage)
home value ~$700,000
no other debt

Marginal tax rate 39.6%
state tax - none

As a small business owner, my income is somewhat variable, and I think I'd like to keep my e-fund at about $100,000. We do max out our tax deferred space, and plan on contributing ~$50,000/yr to our taxable accounts. I'm tempted to pay down mortgage #1 and investing $140,000 into my taxable savings vs ploughing $250,000 into my taxable accounts. My current asset allocation is 70/30 stocks/bonds. If I put all the extra cash in my taxable account I will have to purchase some muni-funds to keep that AA.

I'm tempted to pay off mortgage #1 but wanted the opinion of others smarter and more experienced than me before pulling the trigger.

Thanks in advance,

Ben
SlightOfHand

Re: Payoff 2nd mortgage or invest in taxable account?

Postby bdpb » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:36 pm

I'd pay off the mortgages before taxable investing in a heartbeat.

At your tax rates, you lose some deductibility of mortgage interest and taxable investing has higher QD taxes.
bdpb

Postby Toons » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:42 pm

bdpb wrote:I'd pay off the mortgages before taxable investing in a heartbeat.

At your tax rates, you lose some deductibility of mortgage interest and taxable investing has higher QD taxes.

+1 Without a doubt 8-)