Acceptable Expense Ratios in 401k?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Acceptable Expense Ratios in 401k?

Postby rev316 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:20 pm

Hello. Longtime lurking Boglehead newbie here and I'm looking for some guidance on evaluating the expense ratios in my existing retirement portfolio.

My employer provided 401k portfolio has 2 Fidelity accounts, one is for profit sharing, and the other is for my contributions with a 30/70 split between two target date funds (5 years apart). Both of these target funds are listed with a 0.94% GER, and 0.71% management fee. Seems high? Given the annual advised return of 5%, by the retirement date I would of lost 8% of my earnings or "a retirement year" worth from these fees alone (if I did my math correctly).

What's a acceptable or typical ratio these days, and should I be strongly looking into alternatives?

Thanks!

Edit (added additional info):

- 6+ months emergency fund
- No debt
- Married Filing Jointly
- Late 20s
- Portfolio size is ~40K

Current Retirement:

Fidelity 401k Savings (contribution of 5% pre-tax and 5% roth):
* GER:0.94%, Management Fee: 0.71%
Fund #1 - TARGET DATE 2050 (70%), AAR:5%
Fund #2- TARGET DATE 2045 (30%), AAR:7%

Fidelity Profit Sharing (* No company match, but profit sharing):
* GER:1.03%, Management Fee: 0.79%
Fund #1 - Blended (100%), AAR:6.8%

Here's "some" of the account options.

Stocks/Benchmark:
Fidelity Growth Company Fund (Large Cap Growth) - GER:0.90%/Mang. Fee: 0.71%
Russell 1000 ® Index (Large Cap Blend) - GER:0.26%/Mang. Fee: 0.26%
Vanguard Institutional Index Fund Institutional Plus (Large Cap Blend) - GER:0.02%/Mang. Fee: 0.02%
Dodge & Cox Stock Fund (Mid-Cap Blend) - GER:0.52%/Mang. Fee: 0.5%
Russell 2000 Index (Small Cap Blend) - GER:0.52%/Mang. Fee: 0.52%
Russell 2500 Index (Small Cap Blend) - GER:0.03%
IMSCI All Country World ex-U.S (Foreign) - GER:0.54%/Mang. Fee: 0.54%