New Boglehead @ TD Ameritrade, HELP! [Portfolio]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

New Boglehead @ TD Ameritrade, HELP! [Portfolio]

Postby lovingthesunaz » Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:24 am

I am brand new to all this, I just deposited almost $15,000 in Roth IRAs between my wife and myself at TD Ameritrade. (Before I came across a book by Bogle and knew about Vanguard). I would like to use their commission-free ETFs to build a more aggressive portfolio as I am still pretty young (24 years old). Any suggestions on specific funds to use or allocations for my age? Thanks

I currently have a small amount $500 split between EBAY, HD, and SDY. (This was my first big leap into investing, haha). I don't want to pay fees again like I did for these stocks and funds, hence my desire to build the portfolio using their commission-free funds.
lovingthesunaz

Re: New Boglehead @ TD Ameritrade, HELP! [Portfolio]

Postby WHL » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:03 pm

Shouldn't be a problem for you to roll the money into Roth IRA's at Vanguard if that's what you want :dunno:

With that little amount of money, I personally would put in into a target retirement fund that you feel comfortable with.
WHL

Postby stlutz » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:39 pm

First off--TD Ameritrade is a fine place to invest--no real need to move to VG when you can trade VG ETFs for free.

Second, I would consider Rick Ferri's article on a "Flight-Path" approach to asset allocation. For people just starting out with investing, taking too much risk is a common mistake. He (and some others) recommend starting out with a bond-heavy allocation and then increase the stock allocation over time as you gain experience with market fluctuations. Nobody really knows what their risk tolerance is until they've experienced a bear market.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/rickferri/2 ... llocation/