Just Maxed Roth, What Now?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
okta614

Just Maxed Roth, What Now?

Post by okta614 »

Updated Items in Bold

Hello everyone,

Let me preface this post by saying that I'm a complete investing newb. I read the wiki and Bogleheads Guide to Investing.

Current earnings: Around $30k (I currently make money in Japanese Yen, so at current exchange rates, I make about $33126.45 at today's exchange rate. However, with the current efforts to weaken the Yen, this value will drop)
Annual savings (After expenses): Around $20k
Emergency funds: 3 months worth of expenses ($2,700)
Short-term goal funds: $1,500
Debt: No debt
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 15% Federal, 4% State
State of Residence: Louisiana
Annual Savings: $20k
Desired Asset allocation: 75% stocks / 25% bonds
Desired International allocation: 25% of stocks

Current retirement assets
Taxable
$6,000 cash (sitting in savings account)
Roth IRA
100% Vanguard Target Retirement 2050 Fund (VFIFX) (ER: .18%)

New annual Contributions
$5,500 Roth IRA
$14,500 taxable

IPS
Goal Early retirement in a low cost-of-living country (e.g. Thailand, Indonesia). In order to reach this goal, I need about $12k annually (about $300,000 in portfolio at 4%).
- Time frame: 15 years
Goal Plans
- Type of Account: Roth IRA, taxable accounts
- Annual Savings: $20k
- Current Asset Allocation: VFIFX Fund (63.1% US Stocks, 27% Int’l Stocks, 9.9% Bonds)
- Ideal Asset Allocation: 50% US Stocks, 25% Int’l Stocks, 15% Bonds, 10% TIPS
- Plan B: Work an extra 5 – 10 years, work side jobs.
Short-term purchases
- I currently have no plans for any large, short-term purchases. However, I will set aside a bit of money in case the need for something arises (about $1,500 total).

Notes: