Help a 22 y/o invest an inheritance

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Help a 22 y/o invest an inheritance

Postby AmatureInvestor » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:27 am

I recently found out that I would be inheriting 150k from a deceased relative. I'm currently a college student (biology major) that has been living on a budget around 15k a year. I have no debts and no large expenses. I plan to set aside 50k of the inheritance in a high interest online checking account for any expenses. The remaining 100k I want to invest but lack the necessary education. I don't want to take high risk but also don't want to lose money due to inflation. I've done a little research and TIPS, ETF's and REIT's have catch my interest thus far. If anyone could lead me to literature on building a portfolio for someone in my situation it would be greatly appreciated.
AmatureInvestor

Re: Help a 22 y/o invest an inheritance

Postby damjam » Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:18 pm

Welcome to the forum. :)

You could start here: Getting Started.
damjam

Postby rfburns » Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:41 pm

First, DO NOT GET IN A RUSH to do anything. Sorry for shouting, but it is the wisest move you can make right now. Go ahead and put $50k in a high yield checking if you need to draw on it. Put the rest away in a 1 or 2 year CD for now and continue to concentrate on school. In your spare time read here, read books, ask questions and develop a personal plan you can live with for the long run. Just don't get in a hurry.
rfburns

Postby zebrafish » Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:45 pm

If I can provide you with any advice, it would be:

1. Read the wiki reference above at absolute minimum
2. Take your time

Think about how much of this money you might need in the short term (next 5 years) for additional school, housing, moving, purchases (vehicle), and be very conservative about how you handle this portion.