New investor with NY State; needs advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

New investor with NY State; needs advice

Postby sighchological » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:10 pm

Hello,

I'm extremely new to investing and need all the help I can get. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Some stats: I'm 26, and have 6 months with New York State civil service. My salary is $37,000.

I plan to be contributing to deferred compensation until retirement (which will be in a long time and I intend to stay with NY state) and am not sure whether to pick the Roth 457b or the traditional 457b. What's confusing me is that I read in "mutual funds for dummies" that:

"for those in the four highest fed income tax brackets, the tax rate on stock dividends and long term capital gains is just 15 %."

Does this mean that everyone in the highest income tax brackets who has stock dividends and long term capital gains can take it out at 15%?

Therefore, does it mean that if I choose Roth, i'll be taxed first at 25% due to my income bracket and if I choose traditional I can let it grow tax deferred and take it out at 15%?

I know I'm missing something here. Please help. thanks :)
sighchological

Re: New investor with NY State; needs advice

Postby linuxuser » Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:26 pm

sighchological wrote:Hello,

I'm extremely new to investing and need all the help I can get. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Some stats: I'm 26, and have 6 months with New York State civil service. My salary is $37,000.

I plan to be contributing to deferred compensation until retirement (which will be in a long time and I intend to stay with NY state) and am not sure whether to pick the Roth 457b or the traditional 457b. What's confusing me is that I read in "mutual funds for dummies" that:

"for those in the four highest fed income tax brackets, the tax rate on stock dividends and long term capital gains is just 15 %."