Completely new [Physician]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Completely new [Physician]

Postby ladfamily » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:00 pm

Hi,
I am completely new to this. I only invest in Edward Jones office 401K. I have no other investments. Where to start? Just divorced few weeks ago. ex got half my portfolio of 120K.
Soooooo. I have two boys. I am 38 years old and a doctor.
Do I need to invest if I max out my 401K? I need help putting money away for my boys college about 200K per kid.
My parents have lots of funds in real estate but that will be awhile before I can get that.
Do I have to pay taxes while investing in 401K beyond my allowable amount?
ladfamily

Re: Completely new [Physician]

Postby BolderBoy » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:20 pm

Your best bet is to Google "White Coat Investor" which is run by an ER physician (assuming that is the kind of "doctor" you are) and see what is what over there. His advice is pretty physician specific in many ways.

Welcome and good luck.
BolderBoy

Postby letsgobobby » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:49 pm

Consider posting in the format linked at the top of the pag for more useful feedback.
letsgobobby

Postby SGM » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:14 am