Suggestions for a recently active investor

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Suggestions for a recently active investor

Postby jasc15 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:38 pm

I've been browsing the forums for about 6 months and have learned a great deal. I hope to be able to contribute something to the folks around here in return for what I have learned. The metrics are below, but for those who don't read all that, here it is in english:

I am 29 years old, and have become much more interested in my finances this past year. I realized that it wasn’t an inevitability that you must work until your mid 60’s for retirement to be possible, so I tried hard to increase my savings rate to 50% of gross salary where it is now. It still appears that this won’t allow for early retirement, especially with a home purchase, marriage, etc. in the near future.

So here are the numbers::

Emergency funds: 11 months cash in a savings account (8 months without help from my girlfriend with whom I live.)
Debt: none
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 6.37% State
State of Residence: New Jersey
Desired Asset allocation: 75% stocks / 25% bonds (?) Age in bonds seems a bit high
Desired International allocation: 25% of stocks (?)

Total portfolio is low 6-figures, approximately 2x gross income.

Current retirement assets

Taxable
27% Fidelity Spartan Total Market Index (FSTMX) (0.10%)

401k (These don't have ticker symbols that I am able to find, so I gave the benchmark mentioned in their data sheets.)
5% Government/Credit Bond Fund (Barclays Capital U.S. Government/Credit Bond Index) (0.03%)
12% Equity Fund (S&P 500) (0.01%)
5% International Equity Fund (MSCI EAFE Index) (0.03%)
3% Emerging Markets Equity Fund (MSCI Emerging Markets® Index) (0.10%)
3% Company Stock
Company match: 3.6% (60% of first 6% of employee contribution)

Roth 401k