SIMPLE IRA Help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

SIMPLE IRA Help

Postby shipcamein » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:18 am

Greetings, All, First post here - I'll get right to it.

I am in a SIMPLE IRA at work - with 3% matching from my employer. This is just my 3rd year in the plan, but I intend to stay at this job a while. Problem: The "broker" for this plan has us (all) in API funds. These funds, as near as I can tell, have a heavy front load, and high (nearly 2%) expense ratio. There are just a handful of API funds to choose from, so I am not sure what I am paying the broker for (in terms of "managing" my money).

My questions:

These fees seem high to me. I am no expert, so please educate me.
If they ARE as high as they seem, why does ANYONE buy these API funds?

Some research I've done these last few days makes me think I can - in essence - have this guy put all my contributions in their "no load" money market fund, then do a "transfer" somehow to some other IRA, even self managed. Is this true? And if so:

Does my employer need to know, or just the broker?

I am not (intentionally) implying any evil intent here, but the broker is a close relative of The Big Boss, and the whole thing just makes me feel like I'm getting taken for a ride...

I'm all ears...thanks in advance!
shipcamein

Re: SIMPLE IRA Help

Postby SteveKL » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:02 am

I can't answer any of your questions about API funds, but I can tell you something about transfers from a SIMPLE to an IRA at another custodian, if you decide to go that route.