Pay off Debt and Investing in 401k

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Pay off Debt and Investing in 401k

Postby Sonfish » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:48 pm

So I am trying to figure out what the best strategy is in order to save the most money. I just heard about the 2013 student loan interest deduction which lasts for the first 5 years and has income restrictions. I have been paying for 2 years now. I am starting to phase out making 65k and investing 5% in 401 pretax. I will be getting a promotion soon and so my questions is should I :
(A) Continue investing 5% to match 401k and pay extra towards loans
(B) Invest just enough in 401k to fully deduct student loan interest and pay extra towards loans
(C) Max out 401k & Roth IRA and pay minimums on loans

Student Loans:
36,500 @ 7.75% (Federal Fixed)
21,500 @ 6.25% (Federal Fixed)
17k @ 6.89% (Private Fixed)

Auto Loan:
18k @ 1.99%

Thanks for your help in advance
Sonfish

Re: Pay off Debt and Investing in 401k

Postby Sonfish » Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:27 pm

bump^
Sonfish

Postby bdpb » Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:05 pm

The deduction limit is 2.5k. You're paying over 5k, so not all of your interest is deductible.
The MAGI limit is 60k.

Contribute 5% to 401k to get the company match.
Contribute over and above 5% to 401k to reduce MAGI to 60k.
Put everything else towards the debt. Pay the minimum on each loan. Pay the extra towards the 17k loan. Although it's rate is not the highest, it is the smallest loan. Once it's paid, it will free up cash flow to continue paying the other loans.

Check your 401k for loan options. 401k loans are often much cheaper than these loans. Borrow from the 401k to pay these debts. At least until your student loan interest no longer exceeds 2.5k.

In a year or two (if rates are still low), refinance your car with PenFed to free up cash flow to pay down other debts.