How are we doing?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
MO-RN

How are we doing?

Post by MO-RN »

This is my first time posting in Bogleheads. I appreciate any feedback. My wife and I are 38 y/o. We've been investing on our own since we were married 12 years ago. To simplify; We have about $573K in retirement accounts. We save approximately $49K per year in Roth/401K. Our current AA is almost 100% equities. We have about $36K in cash reserves as well. Given our income ($150K/year) and our projected retirement age (62 years), should we be saving more? Is our allocation too aggressive? Is there a preferred model portfolio?

Thanks,

MO-RN
Last edited by MO-RN on Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
stan1

Re: How are we doing?

Post by stan1 »

You are asking us to do a lot of arithmetic for you. Could you edit the post so that everything adds up to 100% of your portfolio, instead of 100% for each account? Also, would help if you give fund names instead of ticker symbols for the Vanguard funds.

Generally its simpler to manage a married couple's portfolio as one -- unless there's a reason why its separate (prenup, strong personal feelings towards keeping things separate, marriage not recognized by all states/federal govt, etc.). Looks like you are managing them as two portfolios right now, so managing them as one would simplify considerably. It looks like you are fortunate to have lots of good investment choices.
Warning: I am about 80% satisficer (accepting of good enough) and 20% maximizer
letsgobobby

Post by letsgobobby »

for more specific investment info please follow stan1's recommendation to edit your post.

From a high level view, accumulating 4x your gross income before age 40 is doing very well. :sharebeer

Going forward, saving 30+% of your gross will continue to see you in good stead.