Review of my employer provided 401 & 457 plan

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Review of my employer provided 401 & 457 plan

Postby rrauch77 » Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:13 pm

I am very new to investing and I would love to get some advice on the funds that I am currently contributing to.

A little back ground- I'm 35y and I work in public safety. The first 10 years of my career I was provided a defined pension which I froze before I left. I switched departments last year and my new employer provides a 401a and 457b style retirement plan. They contribute 12% to the 401 and match up to 5% in the 457. I contribute an additional 15% into the 457. The plan is managed by MassMutual Retire Smart and I am restricted to contributing to the funds they provide. I've tried to select funds based on the following philosophy -Growth, Growth and Income, International, and aggresive growth funds.

Total income from this job is around 55K counting OT and Bonuses. Unfortunately, my employer only contributes based on my base salary of 34K.

My current balance in both funds is
401-$6,673.70
457-$4,396.73

Is this the best course of Action? I'm worried I may be paying too much in fee's or that I may be in too many different funds. Or that I may be in the wrong funds all together.

These are the funds that they offer. The funds that I'm contributing to along with the fee % are in bold.

SAGIC Core Bond 60425
Vanguard Short-Term Treasury Fund
MassMutual Select PIMCO Total Return Fund
PIMCO Real Return Fund
PIMCO Long Term US Government Fund
RidgeWorth High Income Fund 5% (Net Exp 1.01% Annual Operating Exp 1.01% 12b-1 Fee .30%)
Templeton Global Bond Fund
American Century LIVESTRONG Income Portfolio Fund
American Century LIVESTRONG 2015 Portfolio Fund
American Century LIVESTRONG 2025 Portfolio Fund
American Century LIVESTRONG 2035 Portfolio Fund