Backdoor Roth Question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Backdoor Roth Question

Postby radchad3 » Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:31 pm

Hi everyone! I know there are a fair amount of Roth IRA questions but I need yet another answered. My wife and I are over the income limitations for a direct Roth contribution so I have been making backdoor contributions for a couple of years. However, my wife has had a SIMPLE IRA for several years so we have not been contributing a backdoor for her yet. She just started a new job that has a 401k so now we are in the process of rolling over her SIMPLE into her new 401k. She also has a Traditional IRA with nondeductible contributions with a basis of about 10k. She currently has earnings of about 6K for a total TIRA value of $16k.

1. Is there anyway of transferring only the basis to her Roth IRA and then transferring her capital gains ($6K) to her 401k to avoid paying taxes on the gains. I am thinking this is not possible but worth asking.

2. If I have to convert all of her money ($16K) into her Roth I assume this would be LTCG (15%) on the $6k or is that taxed at my income tax rate?

3. I assume I fill out form 8606 for these conversions correct?

Thank you all for the taking the time to respond!

Chad
radchad3

Re: Backdoor Roth Question

Postby Duckie » Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:51 pm

radchad3 wrote:1. Is there anyway of transferring only the basis to her Roth IRA and then transferring her capital gains ($6K) to her 401k to avoid paying taxes on the gains. I am thinking this is not possible but worth asking.
She rolls the entire basis (~$10K) into the Roth IRA. This is a conversion and she will have to file IRS Form 8606. She rolls the remainder (~$6K) into her new 401k. In order to avoid the pro-rata rule, these have to happen in the same calendar year, so she probably won't get it done by 12/31 because IRA to 401k rollovers take a little while.