Starting out with Asset Allocation and desperately need help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Starting out with Asset Allocation and desperately need help

Postby blessyouall » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:30 am

Dear Bogleheads

AA newbie here -- please help me!

We have been saving up for the last few 3-5 years and are now at a juncture where ignoring potential returns from assets is unwise. Portfolio is over 6 figures and under 7 figures.

Some background -- up until May this year we were almost 90% in cash. However, over the last few months as I started to learn more about AA, I realize what we have been forgoing. I also learnt that allocating as per the Swenson portfolio is a great first start (and I agree).

The difficulty I now have is the following - how do you convert a portfolio that is 90% or more in cash to five or six key funds when you’re reading (depending on where you look) that stocks, bonds, REITs all are ‘over-valued’ or peaking or over crowded.

So my fear is that I rebalance over night and then things tank all of a sudden and I lose capital.

Two key questions --

1) Should I DCA for the next two or so years and reduce my risk?
2) Specifically about bonds, I actually ended up buying VUSUX (long term treasury) at 8% of total portfolio and VIPSX (Inflation protected) at another 8% of total portfolio in one shot last month (Sept 2012). Should I have DCAd that instead if we know a bond decline is coming as interest rates are at historic lows?

Please help me. We are in our late 30s, have some risk tolerance but I would like to avoid an over 20% dip in my overall portfolio if I can. Having lived through 2008 and taken out money at the wrong time, I have become very cautious.

Thanks so much!!
Last edited by blessyouall on Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
blessyouall

Re: Starting out with Asset Allocation and desperately need